Print Page | Sign In | Register
News & Press: General Announcements

Book Industry Study Group Announces Recipients of its 2016 Industry Awards

Friday, October 28, 2016   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Kim Graff

New York, NY (October 20, 2016) – The Book Industry Study Group (BISG) is pleased to announce the winners of its 2016 BISG Industry Awards, presented at its 2016 Annual Meeting of Members on September 30, in New York City.

The BISG Award for Excellence recognizes an individual’s outstanding work on behalf of BISG over the course of a career. This year's recipient is John Ingram, Chairman, Ingram Content Group. He was recognized for driving the transformation of his company, making it a comprehensive publishing industry services partner offering physical book distribution, print-on-demand and digital publishing services across a range of markets.

“I’m honored to accept this award from BISG. Collaboration among our industry through groups such as BISG has been a big part of Ingram’s transformation,” said Ingram. “Our transformational journey has been one filled with successes and challenges. Every lesson has been well worth it. We’re proud to have evolved into a comprehensive services provider for the entire book business. We remain committed to transforming and staying relevant to better our industry, to help our colleagues and friends find success, and to ultimately keep getting books in all forms into the hands of readers around the world.”

The BISG Industry Innovation Award salutes the company or individual who boldly reimagines what publishing is and can be. This year's recipient is Dominique Raccah, CEO of Sourcebooks, former chair and current member of the BISG board, who over the past 30 years has built her company through a continuous series of initiatives, experiments and innovations.

“Thank you so much for this honor, thank you to the whole BISG organization for the work you do, to the committee and working group members and chairs, to my many friends on the board, and to everyone here today for giving your time and effort to making our industry better,” said Raccah. “As members of BISG we are charged and trusted with setting standards for the industry. Let's continue to set a standard of innovation, of growth mindset, of reaching beyond what we are now and creating the future of book publishing.”

The BISG Volunteer of the Year recognizes the recipient’s commitment to solving industry challenges and finding new opportunities by working collaboratively with industry peers. This year's recipient is Tzviya Siegman, Information Standards Lead at John Wiley & Sons.

The BISG Industry Champion Award is given to an individual whose efforts have gone beyond the requirements of his or her position to advance the publishing industry while embracing BISG's mission to facilitate innovation and shared solutions for the benefit of all companies and practitioners who create, produce, and distribute published content. This year's recipient is George Kerscher, Chief Innovations Officer of the DAISY Consortium, Senior Advisor - Global Literacy to Benetech and President of the International Digital Publishing Forum (IDPF).

The BISG Distinguished Service Award recognizes an individual's outstanding work on behalf of BISG. This year, the chairs of BISG's committees and working groups were each given awards for their tireless efforts in the area of standards and best practices. Those recognized include:

       Beat Barblan, Chair, Coordinating Council

       Richard Stark, Chair, Metadata Committee

       Tom Richardson, Chair, Product Data Certification Working Group

       Graham Bell, Chair, Working Group

       Phil Madans, Chair, Identification Committee

       Bill Kasdorf, Chair, Content Structure Committee

       Robin Seaman, Chair, Accessibility Working Group

       Paul Belfast, Chair, EPUB for Education Working Group

       Shayna Webb-Dray, Chair, Supply Chain Committee

       Ed Spade, Chair, Commerce Standards and Optimization Working Group

       Nanette Delumpa-Roach, Chair, Product & Packaging Best Practices Working Group

       Ashley Mabbit, Chair, Rights Committee

       Connie Harbison, Chair, Subject Codes Committee

       Michael Olenick, Chair, Thema Working Group

BISG's Annual Industry Awards celebrate excellence, innovation and service. They reflect BISG's mission of facilitating member-sourced solutions for the benefit of the entire publishing community. Recipients are honored at BISG's Annual Meeting of Members, held each September in New York.

Recipients of BISG's 2016 awards were honored at BISG's Annual Meeting of Members on September 30, 2016, held at the Masonic Lodge on 23rd Street in New York City.  The event was made possible through the generous support of diamond sponsor SPi Global and platinum sponsor Bowker.


232 Madison Avenue, Suite 1400
New York, NY 10016
Phone: 646-336-7141 |